Another 15 counties added to federal disaster area due to spring flooding

FEMA today approved another 15 Illinois counties for federal Public Assistance (PA) disaster aid to reimburse local governments in those counties for expenses incurred from the spring flooding.

The newly-declared counties are Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Greene, Hancock, Lawrence, McDonough, Monroe, Morgan, Peoria, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Tazewell and Will.

Local governments and certain private non-profits in those counties may now apply to FEMA for reimbursement of up to 75% of their costs related to this spring's flooding. Persons affected by the flooding who live in declared counties may apply by visiting, by calling 1-800-621-FEMA or by visiting a FEMA Disaster Recovery Center.

FEMA reports that so far it has disbursed more than $70 million in aid to local governments in the 24 counties already included in the disaster area. More than $92 million in federal assistance has been approved for 34,800 individuals and households which suffered damage from the flood.