The new year brings two new House GOP members

New Members State Reps Steve Andersson & Terri Bryant
Two newly elected Republican State Representatives were officially sworn in today. Steve Andersson and Terri Byant will take their seats on the floor of the Illinois House of Representatives for the first time on January 8th for special session.

State Representative Steve Andersson was officially sworn in to serve Illinois’ 65th District by Judge Linda Abrahamson at the Old Kane County Courthouse in his hometown of Geneva, IL. He replaces Tim Schmitz who retired after 16 years of service in the Illinois House. Read more in the Daily Herald.

Terri Bryant of Murphysboro was sworn in as the new State Representative of the 115th Illinois House District.  Bryant will be filling the vacancy left by newly-elected U.S. Congressman Mike Bost. Bryant’s oath was administered by Illinois Supreme Court Justice Lloyd Karmeier. Read more from WPSD.

Leader Jim Durkin and House Republican members welcome Representatives Andersson and Bryant to the Illinois General Assembly.