Disaster Declaration Expanded Throughout Illinois - 33 counties now eligible for some sort of federal aid - 6/10

Over the weekend, 24 Illinois counties were approved for federal Public Assistance (PA), or reimbusements to local governments for costs relating to the spring flooding which struck throughout the state. A total of 33 counties have now been approved for Individual Assistance (IA), or aid to residents who had suffered losses from the flooding.

This weekend's declaration grants PA help to 24 counties: Adams, Bureau, Clark, Crawford, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Henderson, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McHenry, Mercer, Ogle, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Stark, Warren and Woodford.

In addition, eight more Illinois counties were approved for IA, Brown, Calhoun, Clark, Douglas, Henry, Pike, Whiteside and Winnebago. Combined with counties which had been previously approved for assistance, this brings the total to 33 counties statewide now eligble for IA, PA or both.

Public Assistance refers to aid to local governments and certain private non-profits to reimburse up to 75% of their costs from the disaster. These include cities, villages, counties, and any other local taxing body with an elected chairperson in one of the declared counties. Local governments can apply through their county emergency management office.

Individual Assistance refers to aid to persons and businesses which incurred eligible losses from the flooding. Persons in those counties included in the declared disaster area should call 1-800-621-FEMA or visit www.disasterassistance.gov to find out if they are eligible for assistance.

Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) are also open in some of the affected counties. These are facilities where FEMA staff is available to meet with disaster survivors in person to answer questions and register for benefits. FEMA staff is also holding traveling office hours in the affected counties where full-time DRCs are not open. Residents of those areas should keep an eye on their local media for announcements of times and locations of these office hours.

DRCs are currently open Monday-Saturday from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. in the following locations:

North Park Village
5801 N. Pulaski, Building C

Royal Savings Bank
9226 S. Commercial Avenue

Forest View Fire Department
7101 W. 46th
Forest View

1486 Miner Street (Next to Des Plaines Theater)
Des Plaines

Lisle Police Department
5040 Lincoln Avenue

Chillicothe Fire Department
217 W. Chestnut Street

Rock Island County Emergency Management Office
6120 78th Avenue

Woodford County Emergency Management Office
301 S. Main